What are the classification of periodontal pocket?

Two types of periodontal pockets exist: suprabony pockets; and intrabony pockets (19, 46). In a suprabony (supracrestal or supra-alveolar) pocket, the bottom of the pocket is coronal to the alveolar crest (Fig. 2A).

What are the classifications of periodontal disease?

Three Main Categories. Within this new classification system, periodontal diseases and conditions are divided into three main categories: 1) periodontal health, gingival diseases, and conditions; 2) periodontitis; and 3) other conditions affecting the periodontium.

What is Suprabony and Infrabony pocket?

Suprabony (supracrestal or supraalveolar) occurs when the bottom of the pocket is coronal to the underlying alveolar bone (Figure 20-2, B). Intrabony (infrabony, subcrestal, or intraalveolar) occurs when the bottom of the pocket is apical to the level of the adjacent alveolar bone.

What is AAP classification?

A system of classification for periodontal and peri-implant diseases allows clinicians to properly diagnose and treat individuals with periodontal and peri-implant conditions. The American Academy of Periodontology’s (AAP) 1999 classification system was based on an infection and host response model.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How does dental insurance work in Ontario?

What are the 4 stages of periodontal disease?

Periodontal disease is broken up into four separate stages: gingivitis, slight periodontal disease, moderate periodontal disease, and advanced periodontal disease.

What are the three categories of periodontal health?

Periodontal disease and conditions can be broken down into three major categories:

  • Periodontal health and gingival diseases. a. Periodontal and gingival health. b. Gingivitis caused by biofilm (bacteria) …
  • Periodontitis. a. Necrotizing diseases. b. …
  • Other conditions affecting the periodontium.

What is a Suprabony periodontal pocket?

Suprabony Pocket: A periodontal pocket with a base coronal to the alveolar bone. Infrabony Pocket: A periodontal pocket that extends into an intrabony periodontal defect.

What is fenestration and dehiscence?

Fenestration is the condition, in which the bony coverage of the root surface is lost, and the root surface is only covered by the periosteum and gingiva. In such lesions, marginal bone is intact. When this bone defect spreads toward the marginal bone, it is called dehiscence.[1]

What is Infrabony pocket?

infrabony pocket (intra-alveolar pocket) (intrabony pocket) a periodontal pocket in which the bottom is apical to the level of the adjacent alveolar bone. periodontal pocket a gingival sulcus that extends abnormally deep into the periodontal ligament apically to the original level of the resorbed alveolar crest.

How many stages are there in the new periodontal classification?

Periodontal Staging and Grading

The four stages (stage 1-4) of periodontitis are determined by several variables. Staging intends to classify the severity and extent of a patient’s disease based on a measurable amount of destroyed/damaged tissue from periodontitis.

Why is there a need for classification system for periodontal disease?

Classification systems are necessary in order to provide a framework in which to scientifically study the etiology, pathogenesis, and treatment of diseases in an orderly fashion. In addition, such systems give clinicians a way to organize the health care needs of their patients.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Can wisdom teeth pinched nerves?

What is Cal in dentistry?

Clinical attachment loss which is also known as CAL, is the presence of periodontal disease. Periodontal disease, or gum disease, is a set of inflammatory conditions which affect the tissues that surround the teeth.

What is Stage 3 periodontal?

Stage 3: Advanced Periodontitis

In this final stage, periodontitis has been left untreated and has become advanced periodontitis. Bacteria that was allowed to grow, spread, and cause destruction has destroyed the connective tissues and bones that support the teeth.

What are the 5 stages of periodontal disease?

5 Stages of Gum Disease: Spotting the Signs to Get Treatment in…

  • First Signs. In the very early stages of gum disease, your teeth will seem basically healthy. …
  • Gingivitis. …
  • Early Periodontitis. …
  • Moderate Periodontitis. …
  • Advanced Periodontitis.

What’s a gum pocket?

When gum tissue begins to separate or pull away from the teeth, it leaves a larger space between the tooth and gums where harmful bacteria can thrive. At this point the space is called a “pocket.” Inflammation is present, and the once healthy sulcus has become deeper because it is diseased.